CBBT-Supported Candidates Fared Well in April 5 Elections

Of the seven candidates financially supported by the Coalition for Building a Better Tomorrow (the official political action committee of the Home Builders Association of Greater Springfield), six were successful in their campaigns for elected office on Tuesday, April 5.

In Springfield City Council races, four contested seats were at stake, with CBBT support going to pro-business, pro-economic development and pro-growth candidates in each race. First time candidate Thomas Bieker (General Seat D) won nearly 55% of the vote, while incumbent Doug Burlison (General Seat C) finished with 62% of the vote. In zone 3, Jerry Compton achieved the highest margin of victory on the ballot with just under 70% of the vote. Pro-business challenger Jan Fisk narrowly lost to incumbent Cindy Rushefsky (by less than 200 votes) in zone 2.

In Ozark, the CBBT financially supported Shane Nelson for Mayor. Nelson, who won by 100 votes, will be Ozark’s new mayor. In Nixa’s district 1 city council race, former HBA board member Tom Maher and first-time candidate Andy Ellis received support from the CBBT. Maher won the top spot in the three-way race, and will serve a three-year term on Nixa city council. Ellis won the second spot on Nixa’s council for district 1 – by a margin of just two votes. Based on his second-place finish to Maher, Ellis will serve a one-year term and then that spot will be up for election again next April for a three-year term. HBA Board Member Sam Clifton was re-elected to his post as Mayor of Nixa. He ran unopposed.